The Party Government Data Set (PGDS) files cover 39 parliamentary democracies from 1945, or the year these countries became a parliamentary democracy (again)., through 2008. This update of the PGDS is based on the 2000 edition (Woldendorp et al. 2000). The countries included are:

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (IVth and Vth republics), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland , Turkey, United Kingdom.

When using this updated data set, please refer to it in the following manner:
Jaap Woldendorp, Hans Keman, Ian Budge (2011), Party Government in 40 Democracies 1945-2008. Composition-Duration-Personnel.

Woldendorp, J., H. Keman, I. Budge (2000) Party government in 48 democracies. Composition – duration – personnel. Dordrecht etc.: Kluwer Academic Publishers.

Codebook Party Government Data Set

Governing Parties and their Positions Codebook